Montgomery among six counties added to storm-related federal disaster declaration

Montgomery County in Texas

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) - Add six counties to the federal disaster declaration for Texans damaged by deadly severe weather that began in early May.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency on Thursday announced that Angelina, Erath, Frio, Jim Wells, Montgomery and Trinity counties have been added to the 36 Texas counties previously placed under the disaster declaration. The 42 counties were the ones hardest hit by severe storms, tornadoes, damaging winds and flooding between May 4 and June 19.

FEMA also extended the deadline to apply for individual assistance to Aug. 27.

The disaster assistance for homeowners and renters include assistance with rent, temporary housing, home and business repairs and other disaster-related needs.

For more information, visit

Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.