J.J. Watt among finalists for Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award

Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt is one of three finalists for the 2017 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award.

The NFL also announced Carolina Panthers tight end Greg Olsen and Baltimore Ravens tight end Benjamin Watson as finalists for the award.

The winner will be announced during a two-hour primetime awards special, NFL Honors, that will air nationally on February 3.

"Greg, Benjamin and J.J. have changed countless lives with their generosity and commitment to helping others," said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell. "As remarkable leaders on and off the field, they personify the character of the late Walter Payton. We commend them for using their platforms to leave a positive impact on communities across the country."

The winner will have $500,000 donated in their name. $250,000 will be donated to a charity of the winner's choice and $250,000 will be donated to Character Playbook in his name.