More patrols to track intoxicated drivers as spring break looms
HOUSTON (FOX 26) - "The Zero Tolerance alcohol laws for minors means if there is any detectable amount of alcohol in the minor's system or alcohol-related indicators, while operating a motor vehicle, they will be arrested," said Harris County Precinct 4 Constable Mark Herman.
Pct. 4, in cooperation with the Texas Department of Transportation and the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration, invite everyone to report all impaired or reckless driving in north Harris County to 911 or 281-376-3472.
"Drunk driving is 100 percent preventable and it's all about choice," said Constable Herman.
Constable Herman's office is working on reducing the amount of impaired drivers on Houston-area roadways and minor-related DWI crashes by having additional patrol and DWI STEP units during the 2018 spring break periods.
Texas has a Zero Tolerance Law for minors and alcohol, which means drivers younger than 21 years old cannot operate motor vehicles with any amount of alcohol or drugs in their systems.
For a first offense, violators could face the following:
- License suspension not to exceed 2 years.
- Up to a $500 fine.
- An Alcohol Education Program at least 12 hours long.
- An additional 180 days of license suspension if you don't complete the Alcohol Education program.
- 90 days of license suspension if your judge gives you community service. This means you'll also have an ignition interlock device.
- "So you think, 'Oh just because I'm drunk I can probably drive,' you know? I've done it before once and it's the last time I'm doing it,'" said college student Christopher Moran.
But it only takes one time and chances of getting caught will only increase starting on Friday and continuing into the week ahead as the schoolwork stays at school.
If you are planning to drink, use those ride sharing services like Uber and Lyft or plan to party with trustworthy friends who can designate a driver before you go out.