J.J. Watt voted the NFL's best defensive player again

Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt has been named the Associated Press NFL Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive year.

It’s always a team effort,” Watt said. “So it’s always my teammates and coaches, so I don’t know if ‘surprised’ is the word, but ‘honored’ definitely is. It’s incredible. I’m so fortunate to have guys who allow me to do what I do on a daily basis. So it never stops being incredible, no matter how many times it happens.”

It is the third time he has won the prestigious award in his five-year career, tying Hall of Fame linebacker Lawrence Taylor for the most times a player has won the honor.

“It’s almost difficult to comprehend because I’ve only been in the league for five years,” Watt said. “So to think about where I’ve come from and where I am now and what lies ahead, those types of things, it almost doesn’t register with me because of the greatness of the guys that have come before me. And so to even be considered amongst those guys is truly incredible, but that’s what the goal is. Your goal is to come out here and try to be one of the best ever.”

However, Watt reached the milestone quicker than Taylor.

Watt won the award three times during his five years in the league.  

It took Taylor six years to win the honor three times.



Up Next:

  • Popular

  • Recent

More from FOX 26 Houston