President Obama signs disaster declaration for Texas

- President Barack Obama declared 25 Texas counties as a major disaster area following severe winter storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding during the period that began on Dec. 26, 2015 and ended on Jan. 21, 2016. As part of the declaration, federal aid will be distributed to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the affected area.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged in the following counties:

  • Bailey
  • Castro
  • Childress
  • Cochran
  • Dallas
  • Deaf Smith
  • Dickens
  • Ellis
  • Hall
  • Hardeman
  • Harrison
  • Henderson
  • Hopkins
  • Kaufman
  • Kent
  • King
  • Lamb
  • Lubbock
  • Navarro
  • Parmer
  • Rains
  • Red River
  • Rockwall
  • Titus
  • Van Zandt

Funding will also be available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures throughout Texas.

Federal Emergency Management Agency Administrator W. Craig Fugate has named Kevin L. Hannes as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area of Texas. FEMA damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and more counties and additional forms of assistance may be designated after the assessments are completed.

Up Next:

  • Popular

  • Recent

More from FOX 26 Houston