President George H.W. & Barbara Bush to receive leadership award


The Marine Corps Heritage Foundation released the following statement on Monday:

The Marine Corps Heritage Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of the Foundation’s 2017 Annual Awards. Former President George H. W. Bush and former First Lady Barbara Bush will receive the Lieutenant General John A. Lejeune Recognition for Exemplary Leadership. The Heritage Award will be presented to General Walter E. Boomer, USMC (Ret), former Chairman of the Marine Corps Heritage Foundation Board of Directors.

Fifteen additional winners will be recognized for their outstanding portrayal of Marine Corps history, traditions and culture in a broad range of fields, including photography, documentaries, journalism, poetry, nonfiction and fiction writing. The award recipients will be recognized during the Annual Awards ceremony on Saturday, April 29, at the National Museum of the Marine Corps, in Triangle, Virginia.

“We are pleased to honor former President George H.W. Bush and former First Lady Barbara Bush for all that they have done for the United States during their time of service as well as their dedication to all service members and their families. Their leadership and unwavering support stand as an example for generations to come,” said Lt. Gen. Robert R. Blackman, Jr., president and CEO of the Marine Corps Heritage Foundation. “All our award honorees have contributed to the preservation and promulgation of Marine Corps history through extraordinary works that tell a piece of the Marine Corps story.”

President Bush has demonstrated a lifetime of leadership and support of those in the U.S. military, from his own time as a highly decorated World War II Navy pilot to serving as Commander-in-Chief during Desert Shield and Desert Storm. While in the White House, President and Mrs. Bush were known for their admiration and respect for the men and women of the U.S. military. Their abiding care and compassion for those who serve continues to this day.

A distinguished group of judges including editors, photographers and Marine Corps personnel selected the 2017 winners. This year’s judges included Clare McLaughlin, Executive Director of Arts in the Armed Forces, a non-profit founded by Emmy-nominated actor Adam Driver. Driver enlisted in the Marine Corps following the attacks of September 11, 2011. He established Arts in the Armed Forces to bridge the military and civilian worlds through live theater. The Foundation also welcomed first-time judges Gabrielle Hoyt of the Round House Theatre and Gregg Henry of the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival.

Up Next:

  • Popular

  • Recent

More from FOX 26 Houston