Mayor appoints 37 to serve on Commission Against Gun Violence

- Mayor Sylvester Turner announced on Wednesday the names 37 individuals appointed to serve on the new Mayor's Commission Against Gun Violence.

Among those chosen are students, parents, physicians, law enforcement officials, gun violence victims and members of faith-based and civil rights organizations.

Mayor Turner announced his plans to establish the commission in March in solidarity with the March for Our Lives movement.

“I’m not interested in engaging in a political battle or fight against any organization,” Mayor Turner said. “But I am interested in coming up with ideas that can make society safer for our children, irrespective of where they come from, their religious beliefs or languages they speak, because the shooters have demonstrated they do not respect human life.”

Mayor Turner has asked the commission to provide some recommendations before the start of the next school year and more before the 2019 Texas Legislative Session begins.

The following people have been appointed to serve on the Commission Against Gun Violence: 

Rev. William Lawson; Honorary Chair; Founder & Pastor Emeritus, Wheeler Baptist Church

Rabbi Samuel Karff; Honorary Chair; Rabbi, Congregation Beth Israel

Archbishop Joseph Fiorenza; Honorary Chair; Archbishop Emeritus, Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston

Kendra Willis; 2017 Ms. Wheelchair Texas, gun violence survivor

James Tucker; Yates High School Graduate/ Family member of gun violence victim

Sam Peña; Houston Fire Chief

Dr. David Persse; Chief Medical Officer 

Victor Gonzalez; Mayor's Anti-Gang Office 

Art Acevedo; Houston Police Chief 

Ed Gonzalez; Harris County Sheriff

Kim Ogg; Harris County District Attorney 

Paul Cordova; Interim Police Chief, Houston Independent School District

Vera Bumpers; Metro Police Chief

Marcel McClinton; March for Our Lives High School Student

Wasiq Javed;March for Our Lives University of Houston Student

Madeline Lake; March for Our Lives High School Student

Ariel Hobbs; March for Our Lives University of Houston Student

Alina Dong; Chair, Mayor's Youth Council

Andrew Yoo; Law School Student

Ping Sun; Rice University and Attorney 

Aimee Mobley Turney; Houston Area Group Lead, Mom's Demand Action for Gun Sense in America & Gun Safety Chair of League of Women Voters of Texas

Tiffany Ross; Director of Education and Outreach, Mental Health America and Mayor's LQBTQ Advisory Board

Sonia Corrales; CEO, Houston Area Women's Center

Judson Robinson, III; President, Houston Area Urban League

Mary Ramos; Executive Committee, LULAC

Yolanda Smith; Executive Director, NAACP

Haley Carter; Captain, United States Marine Corps, Houston Dash 2014-2016

Cornelius Blackshear; Director of Veteran's Services, United Way

Dr. Bindi Naik-Mathuria; Attending Surgeon, Trauma Medical Director, Texas Children's Hospital & Assistant Professor of Surgery and Pediatrics, Baylor College of Medicine

Jerry Ashworth; CEO, TIRR Memorial Herman

Dr. Peter Stout; CEO, Houston Forensic Science Center

Johnny Mata; Coalition for Justice, LULAC

Abbie Kamin; Associate Regional Director, Southwest Region, Anti-Defamation League

Dr. Robert Muhammad; Founder, Action CDC

Dan Snare; President, American Leadership Forum

Sheryl Ropollo; Owner, Wagon Wheel Ranch

Deric Muhammad; Activist/Author

Up Next:

  • Popular

  • Recent

More from FOX 26 Houston